Information Page :  QA Level 3 Award in First Aid at Work (RQF)

The Level 3 Award in First Aid at Work (RQF) is a regulated and nationally recognised qualification, designed for those individuals who are appointed to act as first aiders in their workplace. It is also ideal for people who have a specific responsibility to provide first aid in voluntary and community activities.

This qualification should enable candidates to attain the knowledge and practical competencies needed to deal with a range of first aid situations.

Candidates will be able to demonstrate the practical administration of safe, prompt, effective first aid in emergency situations with an understanding of the role of a first aider.

This qualification is valid for a period of 3 years. Candidates will need to retake the qualification before the certificate expiry date to remain qualified.

Entry requirements:

In order to complete this qualification candidates must:

  • Be a minimum of 14 years of age
  • There are no other formal entry requirements but to benefit from the learning we advise that candidates have a minimum of Level 1 in literacy or numeracy or equivalent

Delivery & assessment methods:

The QA Level 3 Award in First Aid at Work (QCF) is delivered over a 3 day classroom based programme incorporating practical exercises.

Assessment is an ongoing process throughout the course by using questions and answer sessions, 6 practical assessments and two multi choice question papers.

Course content:

Candidates will develop the essential skills and knowledge needed to deal with a range of first aid situations from minor slips to the most serious of accidents. Including how to give effective life support, diagnose and treat injuries, and maintain care and comfort of the casualty.

Units covered:

During the course candidates will cover the following topics:

Unit 1: Emergency First Aid in the Workplace

Role and responsibility of the first aider, incident and casualty assessment, primary assessment, CPR and AED, unconscious casualty breathing normally, recovery position, management of seizure, choking casualty, external bleeding, shock and minor injuries.

Unit 1 is assessed by 4 practical assessments and a multi choice question paper.

Unit 2: Recognition and Management of Illness and Injury in the Workplace

Respiratory system, hypoxia, chest injuries, asthma and hyperventilation, circulatory system, wounds and bleeding, eye injuries, shock, anaphylaxis, angina and heart attack, stroke, burns and scalds, poisonous substances, fractures, dislocation, sprains and strains, head and spinal injuries, secondary survey, epilepsy and diabetes.

Unit 2 is assessed by 2 practical assessments and a multi choice question paper.